Myers Briggs personality test

Myers Briggs personality test

The Myers-Briggs Personality Test, also known as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), is a popular personality assessment tool that categorizes individuals into one of 16 personality types based on their preferences for four dimensions: extraversion/introversion, sensing/intuition, thinking/feeling, and judging/perceiving. The MBTI was developed by Katherine Briggs and her daughter Isabel Briggs Myers, who was inspired by the work of Carl Jung.

The four dimensions measured by the MBTI are:

  1. Extraversion (E) vs. Introversion (I): This dimension measures an individual’s orientation towards the external world. Extraverts tend to be more outgoing and sociable, while introverts tend to be more reserved and reflective.
  2. Sensing (S) vs. Intuition (N): This dimension measures an individual’s way of perceiving information. Sensors tend to be more concrete and detail-oriented, while intuits tend to be more abstract and focused on the big picture.
  3. Thinking (T) vs. Feeling (F): This dimension measures an individual’s way of making decisions. Thinkers tend to be more analytical and logical, while feelers tend to be more empathetic and values-driven.
  4. Judging (J) vs. Perceiving (P): This dimension measures an individual’s orientation towards the external world. Judgers tend to be more organized and structured, while perceivers tend to be more flexible and adaptable.

The MBTI results in a four-letter code, which represents an individual’s personality type. For example, an individual who is an extraverted, sensing, feeling, and judging type would be classified as an ESFJ.

The MBTI is often used in personal and career development to help individuals better understand their strengths, weaknesses, and communication styles. The test can also be used in team building and leadership training to improve communication and collaboration among team members.

Here are the four dimensions and their corresponding traits measured by the Myers-Briggs Personality Test:

Extraversion (E) vs. Introversion (I)ExtraversionOutgoing, sociable, and energetic
IntroversionReflective, reserved, and introspective
Sensing (S) vs. Intuition (N)SensingDetail-oriented, practical, and focused on the present
IntuitionImaginative, abstract, and focused on the future
Thinking (T) vs. Feeling (F)ThinkingAnalytical, logical, and objective
FeelingEmpathetic, values-driven, and subjective
Judging (J) vs. Perceiving (P)JudgingOrganized, structured, and decisive
PerceivingFlexible, adaptable, and spontaneous
Traits measured by the Myers-Briggs Personality Test


Here are answers to some frequently asked questions about the Myers-Briggs Personality Test:

Q: Can I take the Myers-Briggs test online for free? A: Yes, there are a number of websites that offer free versions of the Myers-Briggs test. However, it’s important to use reputable sources, as some online tests may not be accurate or reliable.

Q: Which MBTI is most accurate? A: There is no “most accurate” MBTI type, as all 16 types are considered equally valid. The MBTI is designed to measure an individual’s preferences, not their abilities or skills.

Q: What is the rarest MBTI type? A: The rarest MBTI type is often considered to be INFJ, which represents less than 1% of the population. However, it’s important to note that the rarity of a type does not necessarily indicate its value or superiority.

Q: Is Myers-Briggs the same as MBTI? A: Yes, Myers-Briggs and MBTI are often used interchangeably to refer to the same personality assessment tool.

Q: Can your MBTI type change? A: While an individual’s MBTI type is generally considered to be stable over time, it is possible for preferences to shift or change as a result of life experiences or personal growth. However, any changes in type should be interpreted with caution and with the guidance of a trained professional.

Personality Assessment

Personality Assessment TypeDescription
Jung Typology TestBased on Carl Jung’s theory of personality, this test identifies an individual’s personality type based on four primary functions of the human psyche and two pairs of opposing functions.
Big Five Personality TraitsMeasures an individual’s openness, conscientiousness, extraversion, agreeableness, and neuroticism, which are considered to be the five fundamental dimensions of personality.
Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI)Measures an individual’s personality preferences in four dimensions: extraversion/introversion, sensing/intuition, thinking/feeling, and judging/perceiving.
DISC AssessmentMeasures an individual’s behavior in four dimensions: dominance, influence, steadiness, and conscientiousness.
EnneagramCategorizes individuals into one of nine personality types based on their motivations, fears, and desires.
HEXACO Personality InventoryMeasures an individual’s personality traits in six dimensions: honesty-humility, emotionality, extraversion, agreeableness, conscientiousness, and openness to experience.